Each season the River Test and its tributaries undergo several weed cutting periods. This is necessary to help manage water flow and height as well as keeping the rivers open to anglers. The dates have now been confirmed for the 2021 season, see the full date breakdown below.

River Test Weed Cutting Dates 2021


Sector A: River Test from source to the A34 bridge near Whitchurch and Bourne

Sector A Cutting DaysSector A Clearing off Days
Wednesday 9 June – Friday 18 June (midnight)Saturday 19 June – Sunday 20 June
Wednesday 14 July – Tuesday 20 July (midnight)Wednesday 21 July – Thursday 22 July
Wednesday 18 August – Tuesday 24 August (midnight)Wednesday 25 August – Thursday 26 August

Sector B1: River Test from the A34 bridge near Whitchurch to top of Middleton Estate at Longparish

Sector B1 Cutting DaysSector B1 Clearing off Days
Thusday 10 June – Saturday 19 June (midnight)Sunday 20 June – Monday 21 June
Thursday 15 July – Wednesday 21 July (midnight)Thursday 22 July – Friday 23 July
Thursday 19 August – Wenesday 25 August (midnight)Thusday 26 August – Friday 27 August

Anton, Pillhill and Dever

Anton, Pillhill, Bourne & Dever Cutting DaysAnton, Pillhill, Bourne & Dever Clearing off Days
Thusday 10 June – Saturday 19 June (midnight)Sunday 20 June – Monday 21 June
Thursday 15 July – Wednesday 21 July (midnight)Thursday 22 July – Friday 23 July
Thursday 19 August – Wednesday 25 August (midnight)Thursday 26 August – Friday 27 August

Sector B2: River Test from top of Middleton Estate at Longparish to top of Wherwell Priory (B3420)

Sector B2 Cutting DaysSector B2 Clearing off Days
Friday 11 June – Sunday 20 June (midnight)Monday 21 June – Tuesday 22 June
Friday 16 July – Thursday 22 July (midnight)Friday 23 July – Saturday 24 July
Friday 20 August – Thursday 26 August (midnight)Friday 27 August – Saturday 28 August

Sector C: River Test from top of Wherwell Priory (B3420) to the boundary between Leckford Estate and the Houghton Club at Longstock

Sector C Cutting DaysSector C Clearing off Days
Saturday 12 June – Monday 21 June (midnight)Tuesday 22 June – Wednesday 23 June
Saturday 17 July – Friday 23 July (midnight)Saturday 24 July – Sunday 25 July
Saturday 21 August – Friday 27 August (midnight)Saturday 28 August – Sunday 29 August

Sector D: River Test from boundary between Leckford Estate and the Houghton Club at Longstock to the road between Horsebridge and Bossington Mill

Sector D Cutting DaysSector D Clearing off Days
Sunday 13 June – Tuesday 22 June (midnight)Wednesday 23 June – Thursday 24 June
Sunday 18 July – Saturday 24 July (midnight)Sunday 25 July – Monday 26 July
Sunday 22 August – Saturday 28 August (midnight)Sunday 29 August – Monday 30 August

Sector E: River Test from the road between Horsebridge and Bossington Mill to the weed boom at Greatbridge plus Wallop Brook

Sector E Cutting DaysSector E Clearing off Days
Sunday 13 June – Wednesday 23 June (midnight)Thursday 24 June – Friday 25 June
Sunday 18 July – Sunday 25 July (midnight)Monday 26 July – Tuesday 27 July
Sunday 22 August – Sunday 29 August (midnight)Monday 30 August – Tuesday 31 August

RIVER DUN: from source to confluence with River Test at Kimbridge

River Dun Cutting DaysRiver Dun Clearing off Days
Sunday 13 June – Monday 21 June (midnight)Tuesday 22 June – Wednesday 23 June
Sunday 18 July – Friday 23 July (midnight)Saturday 24 July – Sunday 25 July
Sunday 22 August – Friday 27 August (midnight)Saturday 28 August – Sunday 29 August

Sector F: River Test from the weed boom at Greatbridge to the sea
Sector F Cutting DaysSector F Clearing off Days
Sunday 13 June – Wednesday 23 June (midnight)Thursday 24 June – Friday 25 June
Sunday 18 July – Sunday 25 July (midnight)Monday 26 July – Tuesday 27 July
Sunday 22 August – Sunday 29 August (midnight)Monday 30 August – Tuesday 31 August


View the River Itchen weed cutting dates
HERE.

View our latest Chalkstream Fishing Brochure HERE.

For more information about fishing on the chalkstreams please contact Alex Jardine or call our office on +44(0)1980 847389.