Chalkstream fly fishing does not finish at the end of the trout season, but is extended by the wonderful winter grayling season.

Referred to as ‘the lady of the stream’, grayling are found throughout the UK chalkstreams. The silvery, ghost-like, shadows with a striking orange dorsal fin can often be seen elegantly holding position in the flow amongst beds of ranunculus and clean white gravel. They thrive in the nutrient and invertebrate rich conditions provided by these spring-fed streams and river systems. Throughout the summer and autumn months they can be found rising freely up and down the rivers. In the winter, after the trout season has finished, grayling can be targeted on certain beats with both nymphs and dry flies.

Grayling chalkstream fly fishing, River Kennet Chalkstream fly fishing, Dry Fly Fishing, Alex Jardine, Aardvark McLeod Dry Fly Fishing

As the leaves turn and fall, and the waters leave their golden glow behind. The rivers become silver ribbons twisting through the sleeping woodland and the rich red of the scarlet and golden willows. This is the perfect time to target the grayling as they feed freely through the colder months.

View Alex’s How to Set up for Grayling tips below:

It is possible to secure your preferred winter dates whether a single angler, guided trip or group now. So do not hesitate to contact us for details on availability.

Please note that some beats we do not publish availability, if you cannot see what you are looking for or would like our advice please get in contact.

Winter Grayling Fly Fishing Availability 2020/2021:

Week: 21st to 27th December 2020

Wednesday 23rd December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 8 rods

Thursday 24th December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 4 rods

Friday 25th December:
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 8 rods

Saturday 26th December:
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 4 rods

Sunday 27th December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 4 rods


Week: 28th December 2020 to 3rd January 2021

Monday 28th December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 29th December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 3 rods

Wednesday 30th December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods

Thursday 31st December:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
Westover Estate, River Anton – 1 to 8 rods

Friday 1st January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods

Saturday 2nd January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 3rd January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 4th to 10th January 2021

Monday 4th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods

Tuesday 5th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods

Wednesday 6th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 7th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 8th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 9th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 10th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 11th to 17th January 2021

Monday 11th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 12th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 13th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 14th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 15th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 16th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 17th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 18th to 24th January 2021

Monday 18th January:
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 19th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 20th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 21st January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 22nd January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 23rd January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 24th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 25th to 31st January 2021

Monday 25th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 26th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 27th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 28th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 29th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 30th January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 31st January:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 1st to 7th February 2021

Monday 1st February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 2nd February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 3rd February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 4th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 5th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 6th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 7th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 8th to 14th February 2021

Monday 8th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 9th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 10th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 11th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 12th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 13th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 14th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 15th to 21st February 2021

Monday 15th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 16th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 17th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 18th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 19th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 20th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 21st February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


Week: 22nd to 28th February 2021

Monday 22nd February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Tuesday 23rd February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Wednesday 24th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Thursday 25th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Friday 26th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods

Saturday 27th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Frome Guided Trip – 1 to 2 rods

Sunday 28th February:
Testcombe, River Test – 2 or 3 rods
River Dever – 1 to 2 rods


The weed cutting dates have been finalised for the 2020 season, view the River Test dates HERE and the River Itchen dates HERE.

For more information, further chalkstream fly fishing availability or to book one of these days please do not hesitate to contact us by EMAIL or call our office on +44(0)1980 847389.