As of the 25th June 2014 and until 31st December 2015, the nationals of 42 countries (including the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) do not require a visa if travelling to Mongolia for transit, tourist and business purposes for stays of up to 30 days.

Travelers wishing to remain in Mongolia for longer than 30 days must apply for a special permit from the Mongolian Immigration Office after their arrival.

Advice from the consulate for those travelling soon:
Some airline companies and border agencies are not aware of this new rule. For this reason, the consulate is still able to issue the visa for those who wish to obtain it, just to be on a safe side, and to avoid any potential issues while trying to board the plane or cross the border.

For more information on the new visa requirements please contact Alex Jardine or call our office on +44(0)1980 847389.